Hide
Cyffylliog or Y Gyffylliog
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"A parish in the Union and hundred of Ruthin, county of Denbigh. ..... It is situated in the southern portion of the county, and is intersected by several small streams, which, rising in the circumjacent hills, unite within the parish, and, flowing in a north-easterly direction, fall into the river Clwyd. It comprises a moderate extent of arable and pasture land in a good state of cultivation." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]
Cyffylliog was a chapel of ease to Llanynys until 26 January 1874, when it was established as a separate parish, comprising the townships of Bontuchel, Trefor (or Cefntrefor), Treganol (or Fachlwyd), Ffiddoedd and Tre'r Parc; which until then had been in the parish of Llanynys.
To all intents and purposes, Cyffylliog had already functioned as a separate parish for many years.
In 1878, a further 2007 acres were added to Cyffylliog from the parish of Llanrhaeadr yng Nghinmeirch.
Hide
- Williams, David. The high life ... in Cyffylliog? Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 40 (Spring 1998), p. 22-27
See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Cyffylliog, Capel Salem
Ordnance Survey reference SJ 059578.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Mary, is believed to date from the late twelfth century. The present building was erected in the fifteenth century; and was restored in 1876 and 1904.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
Various items - on the People's Collection Wales site
- Bontuchel Chapel (CM) group, Y Gyffylliog
- Inn and chapel, Bontuchel, Y Gyffylliog
- Church, Y Gyffylliog
- Minister and deacons, Bontuchel Chapel (CM), Y Gyffylliog
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Cyffylliog :
| Name of Chapel | Denomination | Number of "adherents" |
|---|---|---|
| Bontuchel | Calvinistic Methodists | 168 |
| Cyffylliog | Calvinistic Methodists | 261 |
| Hiraethog | Calvinistic Methodists | 63 |
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials |
|---|---|---|
| 1617 - 1851 | 1617 - 1967 | 1617 - 1953 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials |
|---|---|---|
| 1617 - 1812 | 1617 - 1812 | 1617 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales | Microfilmed copies |
|---|---|
| 1663 - 1861 | 1663 - 1861 |
I.G.I.
- The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
| Baptisms | Marriages |
|---|---|
| 1796 - 1800 1813 - 1861 | None |
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Cyffylliog was assigned to the No. 4 ("Gyffylliog") sub-district of the Ruthin Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Ruthin poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Cyffylliog are in the format :
- Years 1837 - 1851: Ruthin XXVII. nnn
- Years 1851 - 1930: Ruthin 11b. nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Cyffylliog or Y Gyffylliog to another place.
"North-East Wales Churches and Ancient Parish Boundaries" produced by Clwyd Record Office in 1994, published by Genuki with the permission of Flintshire Record Office and Denbighshire Archives
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county.
Map of the parish of Gyffyliog in the County of Denbigh - on the People's Collection Wales site
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ028550 (Lat/Lon: 53.083034, -3.452282), Cyffylliog or Y Gyffylliog which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Margaret Evans and her spinning wheel, Cyffylliog, near Ruthin, c. 1885 on the People's Collection Wales site
- In 1831- the population was 636.
- In 1901- the population was 484.
[ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
The pupils of Cyffylliog School with their teacher (1897) - on the People's Collection Wales site