Denbigh

• A guide to Denbigh ..    Cheltenham : Edward J. Burrow, [1908?]
• Burgess, John.    Denbigh and Flint        Carlisle 2000
• Butler, L A S.      Denbigh Castle, town walls and friary     London : H.M.S.O., 1976.
• Davies, Edward.  A visit to the town of Denbigh      Denbighshire Historical Society  48  1999
• Davies, Margaret.    The Womens Voluntary Service in Denbigh        Denbigh and its past 12 1997
• Davies, Meirion Lloyd.   The 1945 General Election in Denbigh        Denbigh and its past 15   2000
• Denbigh then and now : researched and compiled by Brockhouse Women's Institute.   Mold : Clwyd Voluntary Services Council, [1988]
• Eisteddfodau Dinbych   2001
• Ellis, Bryn.   Denbigh in the Quarter Session Rolls in the C18th        Denbigh and its past 15   2000
• Glynn, Peter.    Graves in Denbigh associated with the Great War     Hel achau, No. 53 (Aug. 1997), p. 23-26
• Hughes,  John Gwyn.   A commentary on Denbigh and its past      Denbigh and its past. No. 15 (2000), p. 43-60
• Hughes, Raymond.     Llwyn Isaf Waterworks, Denbigh       Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), 49 (2000), p. 151-157.
• Jones, Humphrey Adams.  The Congregational Church, The Denbigh Green        Denbigh and its past. No. 16 (2001), p. 34-42.
• Jones, Frank Price.  Crwydro Gorllewin Dinbych    Llandybie 1969
• Michael, Pam.   Quarrymen and insanity in north Wales from the Denbigh Asylum records      Industrial Gwynedd 2 (1997), p. 34-43.
• Owen, R M.     Denbigh     Loggerheads : S.B. Publications, 1990   -  and vol 2 in 1994
• Owen, R M.  New Post Office at Denbigh     Denbigh and its past. 12 (1997), p. 20-1.
• Owen, R M.     Poaching in Denbigh      Denbigh and its past No. 14 (1999), p. [20-25]
• Pritchard, John Wyn.  'Fit and proper persons'. Councillors of Denbigh, their status and position, 1835-94   (NLW's site)    Welsh History Review 17
• Programme of the Grand National Eisteddfod, to be held in the ancient Castle of Denbigh 7th, 8th, 9th and 10th days of August, 1860 :         Denbigh : Printed at the "Cymro" office and "Eglwysydd" by W. Morris,
• Rear, Bill.    The Denbigh and Mold line    Stockport : Foxline, 1992.
• The old church of St David, Denbigh   1895?
• Thomas, J Gwyn.   Details of the history of the Earls of Denbigh    Denbigh and its past. 12 (1997), p. 16-20
• Vinogradoff, Paul  and Frank Morgan (eds).     Survey of the Honour of Denbigh, 1334      London : Published for the British Academy by Humphrey Milford, Oxford University Press, 1914.
• Williams, E P.     The lighter side of Denbigh's history      Denbigh and its History. No. 14 (1999), p. [16-20]
• Williams, John.  The Records of Denbigh and its Lordship    Wrexham 1860
• Williams, John      The town of Denbigh and Denbigh Castle     Denbigh 1860
• Williams, John.   Ancient and modern Denbigh  1856     [Mold] : Clwyd County Council Library & Information Service, 1989.
• Williams, John.   The castle and borough of Denbigh         Denbigh : Thomas Gee, 1881.
• Williams, T. Marchant (ed).       The Denbigh National Eisteddfod     London : J. Martin & Son, 1883.

For details of these churches see Churches in Denbigh

• St. Marcella
• St. Hilary
• St. Mary
• St. David

Various items - on the People's Collection Wales site

• Copy Order of the Lord Protector, Oliver Cromwell, to restore William Jones as vicar of Denbigh, 1654
• Green Welsh Independent Chapel, Green

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil administrative district of Denbigh Borough :

Parish Registers

• The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
  They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  These microfilms are not available elsewhere.

• Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :

Bishop's Transcripts

• Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
  The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
  In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.

I.G.I.

• The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
  They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Denbigh was assigned to the No. 3 ("Denbigh") sub-district of the St. Asaph Registration District, which was co-extensive with the St. Asaph poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Denbigh are in the format :

• Years 1837 - 1851: St. Asaph XXVII. nnn
• Years 1851 - 1930: St. Asaph 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Welcome to Denbigh

Journey to the past - Denbigh

Denbigh - on wikipedia

Denbigh Castle - on Castle Wales

Denbigh Castle on the People's Collection Wales site

Various landscapes on the People's Collection Wales site

• Geograph
• Flickr

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Denbigh to another place.

Various items  -  on the People's Collection Wales site

• David Lloyd Geroge chatting with the Archdruid Crwys during the Denbigh National Eisteddfod 1939
• Order of aldermen and bailiffs in Denbigh to the Constables of the town, 22 September 1626 
• Lancers at Denbigh during the Tithe War, c.1886-90
• Draft petition of the aldermen, bailiffs and burgesses of Denbigh to the Privy Council for a new commission for mustering persons in the town [n.d.]
• Receipt from E. Thomas, Denbigh Foundry, to the Rev. Michael D. Jones, 15 June 1866 (Welsh Settlement)

"North-East Wales Churches and Ancient Parish Boundaries" produced by Clwyd Record Office in 1994, published by Genuki with the permission of Flintshire Record Office and Denbighshire Archives

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county.

Map of the parish of Denbigh in the County of Denbigh  - on the People's Collection Wales site

The New Town - John Speed's map of Denbigh, 1610 - on the People's Collection Wales site

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ054664 (Lat/Lon: 53.183484, -3.423068), Denbigh which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

North Wales Hospital - Previous Names: North Wales Counties Lunatic Asylum, Five Counties Mental Hospital, North Wales Counties Mental Hospital, North Wales Mental Hospital, North Wales Hospital.
Location: Denbigh, Denbighshire

Various items on the People's Collection Wales site

• Denbigh War Memorial
• An article from the Denbighshire Free Press about the death of J. Hughes from Denbigh during The First World War.

Various items - on the People's Collection Wales site

• Carnarvon and Denbigh Herald Jan 16 1836 
• Wrexham and Denbigh Weekly Advertiser Mar 11 1854 
• Denbigh, Ruthin and Vale of Clwyd Free Press Jan 7 1882

Various items  -  on the People's Collection Wales site

• Gwasg Gee printing works, Denbigh  
• Long-case clock made by R. Griffith, Denbigh (1791-1840)

• In 1831- the population was 3786.
• In 1901- the population was 5301.
  [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]

Various items  - on the People's Collection Wales site

• List of subscriptions received for a WW1 Memorial Tablet at Denbigh County School
• A memorial revealed at Denbigh County School for former pupils who perished and survived service during the First World War

Various items -  on the People's Collection Wales site

• Photograph of a group of three men outside The North Wales Hospital, Denbigh
• Photograph of a group of nurses at The North Wales Hospital, Denbigh
• Untearable dress from Denbigh Mental Hospital
• Lockable boots used at Denbigh Mental Hospital
• Denbigh North Wales Counties Mental Hospital
• Denbigh National Eisteddfod Pavillion 1882
• Photograph of the 1929 football team at The North Wales Hospital, Denbigh
• International Hockey Trial Match held at Denbigh, 1908

• Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 1772 acres.
  [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]