Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog

• Jones, Emma  a Rheinallt Hughes.    Hanes Ysgol Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog         Glyn Ceiriog : Ysgol Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog, 2002.
• Jones, Jane A. Lewis .   The history of Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog and Tregeiriog          [Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog] : Jane A. Lewis Jones, 2000.

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 158328.

"The church, dedicated to St. Germanus, is an ancient and spacious building, but entirely destitute of architectural character, and in a very dilapidated condition. About forty yards to the west of it, and within the cemetery, is a large oblong tumulus, which is said to be the sepulchre of St. Germanus."
[ A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833, Samuel Lewis]

The church was rebuilt in 1846.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Church, Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog :

Parish Registers

• The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
  They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, at the A.N. Palmer Library, Wrexham, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  These microfilms are not available elsewhere.

• Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :

Bishop's Transcripts

• Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
  The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
  In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.

I.G.I.

• The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
  They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog was assigned to the No. 2 ("Corwen") sub-district of the Corwen Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Corwen poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog are in the format :

• Years 1837 - 1851: Corwen XXVII. nnn
• Years 1851 - 1930: Corwen 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog - on wikipedia

A view of the village from a distant elevated vantage point  - on the People's Collection Wales site

• Geograph
• Flickr

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog to another place.

J. Ceiriog Hughes (1832-87) was born in Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog, Denbighshire - 1867 photograph - on the People's Collection Wales site

"North-East Wales Churches and Ancient Parish Boundaries" produced by Clwyd Record Office in 1994, published by Genuki with the permission of Flintshire Record Office and Denbighshire Archives

Map of part of the parish of Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog in the County of Denbigh   -  on the People's Collection Wales site

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ123347 (Lat/Lon: 52.902602, -3.305898), Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

• In 1831- the population was 307.
• In 1901- the population was 243.
  [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]

• Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 9305 acres.
  [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]