Llanddulas

• Ellis, Bryn.  A brief history of Llanddulas and Llysfaen quarries  Part 1.       Abergele Field Club and Historical Society Review 17 (1998), p. 3-10
• Hughes, Edward.  A short history of the parish of Llanddulas (Denbighshire) with special reference to St Cynbryd's church        Colwyn Bay : Leigh and Williams Ltd, 1939.
• Jones,  Brian  and Margaret Rawcliffe.       Llanddulas     : illustrations by Kim Harley; cartography by R. G. Cross.    Denbigh : Gee and Son, 1985.

Ordnance Survey reference SH 908782.
The church was founded by St. Cynfryd; and was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254.
The list of Rectors dates from 1284.
The early church building was ruined by a great storm in 1732; when a new building was erected. By 1868, this was itself "in a ruinous state", and was demolished.
The foundation stone of the present church was laid on 2 July 1868, and the Bishop of St. Asaph consecrated the church on Monday, 24 May 1869.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Church, [Internal/external] Llanddulas  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llanddulas :

Parish Registers

• The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
  They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  These microfilms are not available elsewhere.

• Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :

Bishop's Transcripts

• Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
  The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
  In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.

I.G.I.

• There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Cynfryd, Llanddulas.

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llanddulas was assigned to the No. 2 ("Abergele") sub-district of the St. Asaph Registration District, which was co-extensive with the St. Asaph poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llanddulas are in the format :

• Years 1837 - 1851: St. Asaph XXVII. nnn
• Years 1851 - 1930: St. Asaph 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Llanddulas - on wikipedia

Various landscapes  - on the People's Collection Wales site

• Geograph
• Flickr

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanddulas to another place.

"North-East Wales Churches and Ancient Parish Boundaries" produced by Clwyd Record Office in 1994, published by Genuki with the permission of Flintshire Record Office and Denbighshire Archives

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

A map of the parish of Llandulas in the County of Denbigh   -  on the People's Collection Wales site

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SH908766 (Lat/Lon: 53.289498, -3.638124), Llanddulas which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

The life boat, Llanddulas, c. 1885 - on the People's Collection Wales site

• In 1831- the population was 307.
• In 1901- the population was 788.
  [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]

Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 606 acres until 1878, in which year 635 acres were added from the parish of Abergele.
[ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]