Llangedwyn

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 188241.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Cedwyn, was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation. It was restored in 1869 / 1870.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

 ST CEDWYN'S CHURCH, LLANGEDWYN  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" did not list any nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llangedwyn.

Parish Registers

• The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  These microfilms are not available elsewhere.

• Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :

Bishop's Transcripts

• Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
  The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
  In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.

I.G.I.

• There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Cedwyn's, Llangedwyn.

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llangedwyn was assigned to the No. 3 ("Llanrhaeadr") sub-district of the Llanfyllin Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Llanfyllin poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llangedwyn are in the format :

• Years 1837 - 1851: Llanfyllin XXVII.nnn
• Years 1851 - 1930: Llanfyllin 11b.nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Llangedwyn - on wikipedia

Various landscapes/buildings  - on the People's Collection Wales site

• Geograph
• Flickr

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llangedwyn to another place.

North-East Wales Churches and Ancient Parish Boundaries" produced by Clwyd Record Office in 1994, published by Genuki with the permission of Flintshire Record Office and Denbighshire Archives

Map of Llangedwin parish in the County of Denbigh   -  on the People's Collection Wales site

View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ190244 (Lat/Lon: 52.811422, -3.202515), Llangedwyn which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

• In 1831- the population was 323.
• In 1901- the population was 360.
  [Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]

• Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 1627 acres.
  [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]