Llangollen

• Bodlander, Adrian  and Dave Southern.     Llangollen railway revival .       [Wallasey] : Llangollen Railway Society, 1988.
• Boswell, William A.    Llangollen town trail     Rev ed.      [Hawarden] : [Clwyd County Council], 1985
• Emery, Gordon     Llangollen - the high path to Froncysyllte     Chester : Gordon Emery, 1989.  + various other titles inc.  Llangollen - Horseshoe Falls & Valle Crucis  &    Llangollen - Llandyn Hall & Castell Dinas Bran     &      Llangollen- Llangollen canal & Trevor mills   &           Llangollen - Pen-y-coed & Pengwern Vale
• Grenter,  Stephen  and André Berry.     Castell Dinas Brân, Llangollen   Mold : Clwyd Archaeology Service,, 1991.        
• Hayes, Cliff and Sylvia.     Looking back at...Llangollen : a pictorial history of the area.         Llangollen : Books, [1994]         
• Hayes, Cliff.    Old Llangollen and the river Dee     Llangollen : Books, 1994.
• Jones, C. Delyth R.  (edited by Neil Thomson.)     Llangollen-Chirk canal      [Clwyd] : Clwyd County Council, 1980.
• Jones, T B. Aberavon (Bleddyn Morganwg).      The Maid of Llangollen     Aberavon: Printed by David Davis, High Street. [18--]         
• Lovely Llangollen         Cheltenham : Ed. J. Burrow & Co., [1921?]
• Mavor, Elizabeth.      The ladies of Llangollen      London : Joseph, 1971.    
• Official Llangollen town guide.    Llanymynech : Fairbrook Publications, [1994?]       
• Palmer, Verna.     Llangollen and district       Loggerheads : S. B. Publications, 1990.
• Pearson, Michael and Jackie.      Llangollen and Shropshire Union     2nd ed.   Burton-on-Trent : J.M. Pearson & Son, 1986,1987(printing)
• Pellow, Thomas  and Paul Bowen.        Canal to Llangollen      Crewe : Landscape Press, [1988]    
• Sherratt, Gordon.   A hurried history of Llangollen           Capel Garmon : Gwasg Carreg Gwalch, 1990.
• Simpson, W T.      Some account of Llangollen and its vicinity :  facsim ed.     Mold : Clwyd Library and Museum Service, 1989.           
• Simpson, William Tomisman.    Llangollen and its vicinity   [1827?]      
• Southern, Dave  and Mark Hambly.(edited by Adrian Bodlander)     Llangollen Railway stock book       2nd ed.         Llangollen : Llangollen Railway Society, 1990.
• The beautiful Vale of Llangollen official guide.    Llangollen : Llangollen Publicity Association, [1984?]     
• The Parish Church, Llangollen :   Llangollen : Saint Collen's Parish Church, [198-?]
• The Spirit of Llangollen & Llantysilio : Llangollen Museum = Naws Llangollen & Llantysilio : y ganrif a hanner ddiwethaf mewn llun / Amgueddfa Llangollen.   Asbourne : Landmark, 2003 -  and part 2 in 2006
• Veysey, A. Geoffrey [additions by David Freeman].       Plas Newydd and the Ladies of Llangollen      Ruthin : Glyndwr District Council, 1988.
• Williams,  H. Cernyw : Corwen.           Cofiant y Parch. Hugh Jones, D.D., Llangollen yn nghyda rhai o'i bregethau    Llangollen : W. Williams, 1884.
• Wilson, E A.     The Ellesmere and Llangollen canal       London ; Chichester : Phillimore, 1975.

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of ;

• Llangollen St Collen Church
• Llangollen, Valle Crucis Abbey
• Baptist Chapel, Llangollen

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 217419.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Collen, probably dates from the sixth or seventh centuries. A new building was erected in the thirteenth century; and again, probably in the early sixteenth century, following a fire. The tower was built circa 1750. The church was restored and extended between 1876 and 1883.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Various items  - on the People's Collection Wales site

• Llangollen. Valle Crucis Abbey
• ST COLLEN'S CHURCH, LLANGOLLEN
• Group outside Rhewl Chapel. Chapel was built around 1901 and photo commemorates the time that the local people had finished paying for it
• Baptist College, Llangollen, c. 1875
• Rehoboth chapel (CM), Llangollen
• TREVOR CHURCH, TREVOR HALL
• CASTLE STREET WELSH BAPTIST CHAPEL, LLANGOLLEN
• SEION WELSH METHODIST CHAPEL , LLANGOLLEN
• GLANRAFON CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH, LLANGOLLEN
• ENGLISH METHODIST CHURCH, LLANGOLLEN
• The first Catholic church in Llangollen built in the back garden of Father Patrick Shannon (at Llwyn Palis) in 1943
• The first Weslian Chapel built in 1804
• Service in the field above the town where the Catholic Church was housed in an army hut between 1948 and 1961
• The Bryn Seion Chapel in Trefor in the early 1900s
• Building of part of English Weslyan Church, Llangollen

There are two district churches .

• Froncysyllte

Froncysyllte lies on the south bank of the river Dee, about 4 miles east of Llangollen.
It is at the southerly end of Telford's magnificent aqueduct, which was built almost two hundred years ago to carry the Ellesmere canal across the Dee, and is still in everyday use.

• Trevor

"A chapelry in the parish of Llangollen, Nantheudwy division of the hundred of Chirk, county of Denbigh; 3 miles (E) from Llangollen, on the road to Wrexham. ..... This chapelry comprises the mountainous range to the north of the town and the river Dee, and contains the ruin of Castell Dinas Brân. It abounds with limestone, and the navigable feeder of the Ellesmere canal, which extends up to the river Dee at Llantysilio, passes within its southern boundary, along the northern bank of that river, joining the main canal at the Pontcysylltau aqueduct. " [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of "Llangollen Urban" :

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of "Llangollen Rural" :

Parish Registers

• The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
  They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, at the A.N. Palmer Library, Wrexham, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  These microfilms are not available elsewhere.

• Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :

Bishop's Transcripts

• Bishop's Transcripts for the years 1662 to 1835 have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth; and those for the years 1836 to 1846 have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office.
  Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
  The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
  In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.

I.G.I.

• The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
  They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llangollen was assigned to the No. 2 ("Corwen") sub-district of the Corwen Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Corwen poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llangollen are in the format :

• Years 1837 - 1851: Corwen XXVII. nnn
• Years 1851 - 1930: Corwen 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Llangollen - tourist site

Journey to the past - Plas Newydd and the Ladies of Llangollen

Journey to the past - Poncysyllte Aquaduct

Llangollen - tourist site

Llangollen - on wikipedia

Llangollen Museum

Journey to the past - Castell Dinas Bran

Journey to the past - Llangollen

 Dinas Bran Castle  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Various landscapes/buildings  - on the People's Collection Wales site

• Geograph
• Flickr

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llangollen to another place.

Various items - on the People's Collection Wales site

• Sketch of Llangollen Bridge, by one of the Bacon Sisters, 19th century
• Ex GWR class 7800 4-6-0 7822 Foxcote Manor, withdrawn Dec 1965, preserved at Llangollen Railway
• After fire at Evans and Sons Ironmongers, Oak St
• The Star grocery store next to the Bull Inn on the corner of Castle Street and Market Street.
• Floods in 1964 - Llangollen Bridge
• The first Chain Bridge at Berwyn, built by Exuperius Pickering in 1814
• Outside Llangollen Mill in 1887
• Outside the Sun Inn Trevor
• Queue to go into Horsepool's greengrocers on Castle St in 1945
• Outside John Roberts and Sons on Market Street in 1900
• George and Anna Richards in their car (CA76 - an Allday and Onions from Birmingham) outside Fron View in Trevor
• Coach and horses out side the Bridge End Hotel, 'The National' written on the side of the coach
• The old Smithfield Market, now Market Street car park

"North-East Wales Churches and Ancient Parish Boundaries" produced by Clwyd Record Office in 1994, published by Genuki with the permission of Flintshire Record Office and Denbighshire Archives

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county.

Various maps  -  on the People's Collection Wales site

• Dinbren township in the parish of Llangollen in the County of Denbigh  
• Township of Eglwys Eagle in the parish of Llangollen in the County of Denbigh
• Map of the township of Vivod in the parish of Llangollen in the County of Denbigh
• Map of the township of Llangollen Fechan in the County of Denbigh
• Map of the township of Pengwern in the parish of Llangollen in the County of Denbigh
• The townships of Hafodgynfawr, Nantgwryd and Talgarth in the parish of Llangollen in the County of Denbigh
• Plan of Llangollen Fawr township in the parish of Llangollen, Denbigh

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ220418 (Lat/Lon: 52.967828, -3.162388), Llangollen which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

Llangollen Home Guard 1940-44 - on the People's Collection Wales site

Various items - on the People's Collection Wales site

• Workers at Hughes factory, Llangollen, c. 1875
• TREVOR UCHAF QUARRIES INCLINE WINDING HOUSE etc
• TREVOR CORN MILL;TREVOR MILL, BRYN HOWELL LANE, TREVOR
• ACREFAIR CHEMICAL WORKS
• Llangollen Fire Brigade
• Working in the tannery and leatherworks on Church Street in the 1930s
• Part of the workforce of Coward's Timber Company
• Haymaking on Bache Canol farm
• Llangollen Brigade in 1901 with the Steamer Pump that was called Dinas Bran
• Tom Lawrence shoeing a horse at the stables just before Birch Hill on Queen Street

• In 1831- the population was 4498.
• In 1901- the population was 5704.
  [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]

Various items  - on the People's Collection Wales site

• Llangollen Secondary School
• BRITISH SCHOOL, BROOK STREET, LLANGOLLEN
• Llangollen. National School [class]
• Board School in the late 1920s
• Staff of Llangollen Grammar School
• Staff at Dinas Brn School
• Llangollen infants in 1926 or 1927
• A school photograph of class B from upper Garth school, Trevor
• A school celebration maybe at the end of the War
• Pupils at the County School
• Top building at the County School
• Pupils and teachers outside St Mary's Church (also used as a school)
• Llangollen Boys Council School Full Attendance 1903-1904

Various items - on the People's Collection Wales site

• Llangollen Eisteddfod c.1940 [various]
• Llangollen. Choral Society
• Arosfa football club on Maesmawr field around 1925
• Llangollen Silver Band?
• Mr Owen, the old bellringer of Llangollen, c. 1875
• Crowning of Mair Parry as Agricultural Queen on Pengwern Hall field during the war
• Llangollen Football Club - 1928/9 - on the Abbey Road Ground
• Llangollen. International Eisteddfod
• May Day parade
• Group of people in horse drawn carriage
• Outside Llewelyn Rowlands butchers on Bridge Street
• On the canal near Llangollen
• Llangollen/Cefn Mawr operatic/Drama society
• Group in a charabang enjoying a day out
• Pram race in Castle St outside the Bull Inn and Caesar Hughes shop

• Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 13,076 acres titheable, and the same again non-titheable.
  [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]