Llansannan

• Davies, Rhiannon.    Llansannan born and bred         Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 60 (Spring 2009), p. 8-15
• Edwards, Elwyn.   Dafydd Jones, Llansannan, 1907-1994          Barddas (Cymdeithas Gerdd Dafod), Rhif 301 (Tachwedd/Rhagfyr 2008 / Ionawr 2009), p. 22-23
• Enwogion Plwyf Llansannan, Tudur Aled, William Salesbury, Henry Rees, Gwilym Hiraethog, Iorwerth Glan Aled :         [1899?]
• Hanes cychwynol eglwysi Bedyddiedig Fforddlas, Llansannan, a Llanelian / dan olygiaeth R. P. Jones (Perorfryn), Ffestiniog.         [Ffestiniog : Undeb Bedyddwyr Dyffryn Conwy a Ffestiniog], 1915.
• Jones, Emyr Wyn.      Edward Parry, 1723-1786, Llansannan         Traethodydd (Denbigh, Wales), Cyf. 142 (1987), p. 23-37
• Jones, Gwyn.    Llansannan church          Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), Vol. 57 (2009), p. 50-55
• Jones, R.      Cofiant y diweddar Thomas Jones, Llansannan        R.  Jones (Trebor Aled).  buddygol yn Eisteddfod Gadeiriol Llansannan, Mehefin 4ydd, 1900.    Llangollen : Argraffwyd gan W. Williams, [1901?]
• Jones, Robert Wynne  Llansannan. (Hedd Molwynog)    dan olygiad R. Ellis.    Hanes hen furddynod plwyf Llansannan        Conwy [Conway] : Argraffwyd gan R. E. Jones a'i Frodyr, 1910.
• Jones, R Wynn   (Lloffwr Llen)      Plwyf Llansannan ; o dan olygiaeth R. Ellis.         Conwy : R.E. Jones, 1911.
• Lowe, W. Bezant .      Llansannan     Llanfairfechan : printed for the author [at the Caxton Press], 1915.
• Owen, Goronwy Prys.         Edward Parry, Llansannan         Y Cylchgrawn Efengylaidd. 23/5 (Medi/Hyd. 1986), p. 12-14
• Owen, Robert.    Llansannan fel y mae         Lleufer, Cyf. 11, rh. 2 (Haf 1955), t. 81-82.
• Parry, Rhiannon.    Y diweddar Mrs Gwen Wyn Jones, Llansannan       Allwedd y tannau. Rhif 56 (Gwanwyn 1997), t. 64-65.
• Pedigree of the family of Myddelton of Gwaynynog, Garthgynan and Llansannan, all in the County of Denbigh / attempted by W.M. Myddelton.    Horncastle, Lincs. : privately printed [by] W.K. Morton & Sons, 1910.
• The registers of the parish of Llansannan 1667-1812  [transcribed by Robert Ellis].         Liverpool : Printed by I. Foulkes, 1904.
• Wynne-Woodhouse, Bill.       Inscriptions in Llansannan churchyard    2nd ed.         Llansannan : Eirlys Wynne-Woodhouse, 1994.

Ordnance Survey reference SH 934658.
The church was founded by St. Sannan, an Irish saint and bishop; and was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254. It was partly rebuilt in 1778. It was restored in 1878/1879, being re-opened on 12 June 1879.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Various items - on the People's Collection Wales site

• Baptist deacons, Llansannan 
• Church, Llansannan
• Church choir, Llansannan 1897
• (Baptist?) Chapel, Llansannan (1897)
• Calvinistic Methodist chapel officials, Llansannan
• Tan-y-fron Chapel, near Llansannan
• Tan-y-fron Chapel Sunday School, near Llansannan

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llansannan :

Parish Registers

• The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
  They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  These microfilms are not available elsewhere.

• Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :

Bishop's Transcripts

• Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
  The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
  In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.

I.G.I.

• The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
  They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llansannan was assigned to the No. 3 ("Denbigh") sub-district of the St. Asaph Registration District; which was co-extensive with the St. Asaph poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llansannan are in the format :

• Years 1837 - 1851: St. Asaph XXVII. nnn
• Years 1851 - 1930: St. Asaph 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Llansannan - on wikipedia

Various landscapes - on the People's Collection Wales site

• Geograph
• Flickr

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llansannan to another place.

"North-East Wales Churches and Ancient Parish Boundaries" produced by Clwyd Record Office in 1994, published by Genuki with the permission of Flintshire Record Office and Denbighshire Archives

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

Various maps - on the People's Collection Wales site

• Tithe map of Llansannan, Denbighshire  
• Part One: map of the parish of Llansanan lying in the County of Denbigh; Part Two: map of common land in the parish of Llansannan in the County of Denbigh

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SH940635 (Lat/Lon: 53.158431, -3.587465), Llansannan which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

• In 1831- the population was 1383.
• In 1901- the population was 945.
  [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]

Various items  - on the People's Collection Wales site

• Llansannan Club (1897) Large group of men wearing regalia and band. 
• Llansannan children on Club day 1885
• An elderly woman sitting next to a table on a doorstep (Llansannan)

• Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 15,600 acres.
  [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]