Pentrefoelas

• Bryan, E C.    The Red Doctor of Pentrefoelas :        Country Quest 30/6 (1989), p. 18-19
• Dathlu 75 mlynedd 1931-2006 [Ysgol Pentrefoelas].          [Llanrwst] : Gwasg Carreg Gwalch, 2006.
• Eisteddfod Gadeiriol Pentrefoelas gynhelir ddydd Sadwrn, Mehefin 12fed, 1920 :         Llanrwst : Evan Pughe, Jones & Co., 1920.
• Heald, George Owen.    Cymdeithas Lenyddol Pentrefoelas a'r Cylch, 1849        Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), 41 (1992), p. 105-121
• Roberts, Dewi.    Pentrefoelas         Country Quest. (November 2004), p. 23

Ordnance Survey reference SH 873515.
There is evidence of a "chapel" at Pentrefoelas in the sixteenth century. A new building replaced it in 1766, but it was not consecrated until 23 June 1771.
There were additions in 1774. The church was completely rebuilt in 1857/59.
According to Archdeacon Thomas, the church was not initially licensed for marriages; but as it was some considerable distance from the nearest licensed church, many marriage ceremonies were nevertheless performed. The Bishop of St. Asaph eventually obtained an Act, in 1805, to legalise the marriages.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

 Church, Pentrefoelas   -  on the People's Collection Wales site

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Pentrefoelas

Parish Registers

• The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
  They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  These microfilms are not available elsewhere.

• Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :

Bishop's Transcripts

• Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
  The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
  In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.

I.G.I.

• The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
  They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Pentrefoelas was assigned to the No. 3 ("Yspytty") sub-district of the Llanrwst Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Llanrwst poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Pentrefoelas are in the format :

• Years 1837 - 1851: Llanrwst XXVII. nnn
• Years 1851 - 1930: Llanrwst 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Various landscapes/buildings   -  on the People's Collection Wales site

• Geograph
• Flickr

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Pentrefoelas to another place.

"North-East Wales Churches and Ancient Parish Boundaries" produced by Clwyd Record Office in 1994, published by Genuki with the permission of Flintshire Record Office and Denbighshire Archives

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SH890540 (Lat/Lon: 53.071557, -3.658061), Pentrefoelas which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

FOELAS CORN MILL;MELIN FOELAS, PENTREFOELAS   -  on the People's Collection Wales site

• In 1831- the population was 616.
• In 1901- the population was 441.
  [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]