Ruabon

• Edwards, Ifor.     Claymaster of Ruabon         Country Quest 28/7 (1987), p. 5-6
• Edwards, Ifor.         Claymasters and clayworkers in the old parish of Ruabon        Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), 35 (1986), p. 83-99.
• Edwards, Ifor.        Gazetteer of clayworks in the Wrexham and Ruabon district       Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), 36 (1987), p. 47-83
• Edwards, Ifor  and T. W. Pritchard.    The old parish of Ruabon in old picture postcards   2nd ed.     Zaltbommel, Netherlands : European Library, 1991.
• Fairclough, Oliver.     William Parry of Ruabon:        Friends newsletter [National Museums and Galleries of Wales], May 2004, 29-32
• Gilpin,  Dennis W.    Ruabon Boys Grammar School        Wrexham : Bridge Books, 1999.
• Palmer, Alfred Neobard.            A history of the parish of Ruabon       Wrexham : Bridge Books, 1992.
• Pritchard, T W.    Remembering Ruabon      Wrexham : Bridge Books on behalf of the Ruabon & District Field Club Millennium Book Committee, 2000.
• Ruabon Parish Church, Denbighshire / [research and original text by T.W. Pritchard ; editing, design and photography by R.J.L. Smith]. Much Wenlock : R.J.L. Smith, c1998.
• The Parish Church of St.Mary,Ruabon,Denbighshire(Diocese of St.Asaph).         Gloucester: British Publishing, 1968.

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Ruabon St Mary's Church Ordnance Survey reference SJ 303437.
The first church at Ruabon is believed to have been established by St. Mabon, during the sixth century. It was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254, when the dedication was to St. Collen.
The present church, which is dedicated to St. Mary, dates from the late thirteenth century. It was extensively "restored" in 1870.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Various items -  on the People's Collection Wales site

• ST MARY'S CHURCH, RUABON  
• RHAGLUNIAETH CHAPEL, RUABON
• ENGLISH WESLEYAN METHODIST CHURCH, RUABON
• Maengwyn Calvinist Methodist Chapel, Heol Maengwyn

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Ruabon :

Parish Registers

• The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, at the A.N. Palmer Library, Wrexham, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  These microfilms are not available elsewhere.

• Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :

Bishop's Transcripts

• Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
  The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
  In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.

I.G.I.

• There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Mary's, Ruabon.

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Ruabon was assigned to the No. 3 ("Ruabon") sub-district of the Wrexham Registration District; which, initially, was co-extensive with the Wrexham poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Ruabon are in the format :

• Years 1837 - 1851: Wrexham XXVII. nnn
• Years 1851 - 1930: Wrexham 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Welcome to Ruabon site

Ruabon - on wikipedia

Various landscapes/buildings   -  on the People's Collection Wales site

• Geograph
• Flickr

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ruabon to another place.

Various items -  on the People's Collection Wales site

• ROUND HOUSE;RUABON LOCK-UP, RUABON  
• Offa's Dyke at Ruabon

WYNNSTAY HALL, RUABON   -  on the People's Collection Wales site

"North-East Wales Churches and Ancient Parish Boundaries" produced by Clwyd Record Office in 1994, published by Genuki with the permission of Flintshire Record Office and Denbighshire Archives

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

Various items  -  on the People's Collection Wales site

• Township of Christionydd Kendrick in the parish of Ruabon in the County of Denbigh  
•  Map of the townships of Moreton Below, Bodylltyn, Rhyddallt, Belan, Hafod, Moreton Anglicorum and Dinhunlle Issa in the parish of Ruabon

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ287449 (Lat/Lon: 52.996241, -3.063211), Ruabon which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

Various items  -  on the People's Collection Wales site

• MONSANTO CHEMICAL WORKS, RUABON  
•  WYNNSTAY COLLIERY: WINDING ENGINE HOUSE

• In 1831- the population was 8353.
• In 1901- the population was 3483.
  [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]

Various items  -  on the People's Collection Wales site

• Ruabon Grammar School  
• Old Grammar School and Hearse Shed, Church Street, Ruabon

Various items -  on the People's Collection Wales site

• The Beaver badge presented to a Ruabon patrol 1933  
• This is a sensitive portrayal of John Parry, 'The Blind Harpist of Ruabon',