Bodfari

• Book of reference to the plan of the Parish of Bodfari (part of) Lieut.-General Sir Henry James, Director-General of the Ordnance Survey. London : Eyre & Spottiswoode for H.M.S.O., 1875
• Cocking, Edna.    Bodfari parish registers      Hel achau, 37 (1992), p. 2-3
• Roberts, J L.     St Stephens Church Bodfari and Parish throughout the ages, 500 BC to 1930 AD        Rhuthun [i.e. Ruthin] : Clwyd Voluntary Services Council, 1978.
• Williams, Geraint.    Bodfari school and the railway         Denbigh and its past 7 (1992), p. 19-21

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Bodfari St Stephen's Church

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 092701.
The parish church, dedicated to St. Stephen, has a history which pre-dates the Norman conquest. It was extensively rebuilt in 1865.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Flint - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of "Bodfari":

Parish Registers

• The following Parish Registers have been deposited at Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden. They may be viewed on microfilm at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin, and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth. These microfilms are not available elsewhere.

• Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :

Bishop's Transcripts

• Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
  The films may also be viewed at the Flintshire and Denbighshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
  In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.

I.G.I.

• The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
  They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Bodfari was assigned to the No. 1 ("St. Asaph") sub-district of the St. Asaph Registration District, which was co-extensive with the St. Asaph poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Bodfari are found under:

• Years 1837 - 1851: St. Asaph XXVII. nnn
• Years 1852 - 1946: St. Asaph 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Bodfari - on wikipedia

Various landscapes on the People's Collection Wales site

• Geograph
• Flickr

The transcription of the section for this place from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Bodfari to another place.

"North-East Wales Churches and Ancient Parish Boundaries" produced by Clwyd Record Office in 1994, published by Genuki with the permission of Flintshire Record Office and Denbighshire Archives

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

Map of the township of Bodfary being that part of the parish of Bodfary situate in the County of Flint (1840s) on the People's Collection Wales site

Map of the township of Aberwhiler in the parish of Bodfarry in the County of Denbigh & Flintshire - on the People's Collection Wales site

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ102705 (Lat/Lon: 53.22378, -3.346839), Bodfari which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

Bodfari Iron Mine on the People's Collection Wales site

• In 1831- the population was 873.
• In 1901- the population was 756.
  [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]

Archdeacon Thomas (1911) gives the area of the parish as 4700 acres.