Llanilid

Here is a substantial reading list of books which relate to Glamorgan, either county or parish.

The Glamorgan Family History Society have produced a set of microfiche containing Monumental Inscriptions for the following burial grounds :-

• Parish Church of St. St. Illid & St. Curig

Glamorgan Chapels Database  - no non-conformist chapels found in this parish

For full and up-to-date details of their holdings see the sites of Glamorgan Record Office and/or West Glamorgan Archives

See Bap/Mar/Bur data on  FreeReg

The church is dedicated to St. Illtyd, is in the Benefice of Llanilid with Pencoed, and the diocese of Llandaff. Details of the present incumbent of this benefice can be found at the Church in Wales website. The church can be located at grid reference SS977813.

A transcription of the registers is available from the Glamorgan Family History Society for the years: Baptisms, 1696-1922, Marriages, 1730-1834, Burials, 1696-1924. Visit their website for information on how to purchase these fiche.

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

• Llanilid Ecclesiastical Parish records       " ...... including registers of baptism, 1815-1987; marriages, 1754-1970; burials, 1813-1987; banns, 1825-1987; combined register of baptism and burial, 1706-1812; churchwardens accounts, 1820-1879; church restoration appeal, 1881; extracts of bishops transcripts 1696-1728"

The following Religious Institutions are covered in the Mormon International Genealogical Index (IGI) :-

• Llanilid, St. Illtyd - Christenings (BT's), 1696-1875

Llanilid Castle on the Castle Wales site

• Geograph
• Flickr

The transcription of the section for Llanilid from The National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.

Description of parish from A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1833) by Samuel Lewis.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanilid to another place.

Some of the hamlets, towns and villages within this parish

• Felindre

This diagram shows the position of this parish within the county of Glamorgan - click on this to see a full size diagram of the county

The parish of Llanilid in the County of Glamorgan - on the People's Collection Wales site

Parish map (Kain/Oliver)

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SS993833 (Lat/Lon: 51.52134, -3.474426), Llanilid which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

Places, villages, farms etc within Llanilid as shown on the online parish map from the CD of Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. (Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R.). (Extracted by Jean Gilson)

• Llanilid (106): Coed mawr; Craig-y-Ruthin; Gadlys; Heol Porth-mawr [site of]; Llanilid; Pencoed isaf; Pencoed uchaf; Pen-y-waun; Ruthin; Tir eithin; Trallwm; Tre Fran; Ty'n y caeiau
• Detached part north of Peterston: - Llanilid Reservoir, Rhiw, Ty'n-y-coed, colliery.

There are many references to this area in the 15 million Welsh and English language articles from Welsh newspapers transcribed by the NLW and viewable on Welsh Newspapers Online
Below are English language articles that have been re-transcribed and extracted randomly to illustrate what is available, there are many that are not extracted here that include names of local people

• From The Glamorgan Gazette 18th February 1910

LLANILID PLOUGHING MATCH ALL ROUND ADVANCE. The fact that a ploughing and banking match was needed for Llanilid and district was shown by the success which attended the second annual event on Feb. 9th. A field at Brynewttyn Farm had been kindly placed at the disposal of the society by Mr. E. Hummer. In all directions improvement was made upon last year. There were more entries, a larger attendance, better prizes, and a higher class of work .. (part extract)...

• From the Weekly Mail 22nd September 1883

RE-OPENING OF LLANILID CHURCH, GLAMORGANSHIRE. Those who have known the condition the ancient church of Llanilid has been in during the past few years know also how urgently needed were the improvements and alterations which have been recently carried out there. The flag-stones tilted up in a manner which made it extremely dangerous to walk the nave, the seats were almost falling to pieces, and daylight peeped through various holes in the roof. The difficulty of obtaining the necessary funds for Church restoration in rural and thinly-populated parishes must be apparent to all, and it must have been by zealous working that the respected Rector of Llanilid (the Rev. John Morgan) succeeded in obtaining the funds necessary to improve his church. The work was entrusted to Messrs. T. and W, Cox, of Llandaff, who have carried it out in a very satisfactory manner. ....(part extract)...

•  From The South Wales Star 22nd May 1891

POOR RATE. —The magistrates signed a poor- rate for the parishes of Llanilid. St. Athan. Ystradowen, Lisworney. and Pendoyian.

• From the South Wales Echo (Special edition) 26th July 1890

PARISHES WITHOUT PAUPERS. The following parishes in the Cowbridge district were, or were very recently, without any  paupers Eglwysbrewis, Flemingstone, Gilestone, Llanilid, Llanmihangel, Lisworney, Marcross, Monkaash, Nash, and Stembridge,

The Population of Llanilid was as follows, and a more detailed breakdown is available.

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

• Llanilid Civil Parish records      " ..... comprising highway surveyor's account book, 1839-1858; overseers' rate book, 1840-1844; copy of extract from bishops' transcripts of parish registers, 1696-1728; copy of tithe plan and apportionment, c1840"