Hide
Cemais / Cemmaes
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"CEMMES (CEMMAES), a parish in the hundred of MACHYNLLETH, county of MONTGOMERY, NORTH WALES, 7 miles (N. E. by E.) from Machynlleth, containing 917 inhabitants. The name of this place signifies a circle, or amphitheatre for games. The village is pleasantly situated on the southern bank of the river Dovey, and on the road from Welshpool to Machynlleth and Aberystwith, which, from a short distance north of it, runs parallel with the river for the remainder of its course. ... The church, dedicated to St. Tydecho, is in the early style of English architecture : the gallery is adorned with fine carvings of flowers, &c., in wood ; in the churchyard there are four large yew trees. There are places of worship for Independents and Calvinistic Methodists. ..." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833]
Hide
- Willans, J B The Mostyns of Dolycorsllwyn, Cemmaes Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire Vol 42 1932 Welsh Journals Online
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Cemais parish 1841-1901
| St Tydecho, Cemmaes |
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants. Cemmes parish consisting of the townships of Brynuchel with Tafalog, and Gwernybwlch; statistics; Area 9247 acres; Population 426 males, 465 females, total 891
|
Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Sammah Chapel section (in Welsh) has been extracted - Translation by Maureen Saycell (Nov 2012)
Church of St Tydecho, Cemmaes on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site
Chapel in Cemmaes before it was renovated - on the People's Collection Wales site
Independent churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Sammah
Calvinistic Methodist (Presbyterian) churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Cemmaes
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1711-1745, 1751-1927; Marriages 1711-1745, 1749-55, 1757-1970; Burials 1711-1745, 1749-1863; Banns 1823-1918
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
Country lane near Cemmaes - on the geograph.org site
- The transcription of the section for Cemais / Cemmaes from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Cemais / Cemmaes to another place.
Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SH872081 (Lat/Lon: 52.658527, -3.668618), Cemais / Cemmaes which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Cemmaes Children that was [sic] in the war - on the People's Collection Wales site
Cemmaes War Memorial, Remembrance Sunday 1960 - on the People's Collection Wales site
Bringing in the hay at Penygyrn Fam, Cemmaes - - on the People's Collection Wales site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Cemmaes Parish and Community Council Records 1764-1987
Cemmaes Council School various years 1910 to 1962- on the People's Collection Wales site
Children of Lower Street, Cemmaes on their bikes - on the People's Collection Wales site
Coral [sic]Society Cemmaes - on the People's Collection Wales site