Llandinam

Carver, M D. The Hamer family: William Hamer, d.1743, of Llandinam. Cronicl Powys. No. 27 (1992), p. 36-38

Jones, Goronwy. David Davies (1818-1890) Llandinam. Gwrecsam : Hughes a'i Fab, 1913. 80p

Jones, John. Y Parch. Evan Jones, Brynhafren, Llandinam : ynghyda byr hanes teulu y Wern. Treffynon : Argraffwyd gan P. M. Evans and Son, [1897?] 25p

Jones, J Graham. The Peacemonger: David Davies, the first Baron Davies of Llandinam (1880-1944). Journal of Liberal Democrat History, 29 (Winter 2000 / 2001), 16-23. Memento of the second reunion of the 14th (Service) Battalion Royal Welch Fusiliers who sailed to France on December 1st, 1915 held at Llandinam from 30th July to 4th August, 1937. 1937. 42p

Memoir and sermons of the late Rev. David Lloyd Jones, M.A., Llandinam. Wrexham : Hughes and Son, 1912. 360p

Morris, E Ronald. Banhadlog Church (Capel Banhadlog or Old Chapel), Llandinam parish, Montgomeryshire. Cronicl Powys. No. 18 (1988), p. 36-7

Owen, Cecil E. Presbyterian Church of Wales Llandinam centenary 1873 - 1973. [Llandinam] : [Llandinam Presbyterian Church], [1973]. 22p Parish of Llandinam : Parish Church of St Llonio : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1997. 161p. And 2nd ed 2001.

Parish of Llandinam : Presbyterian Church, village inscriptions, war memorial, Banhadlog Chapel of Ease, Beulah Baptist Chapel, Caerau Wesleyan Methodist Chapel : memorial inscriptions. S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1997. 69p

Pryce, Jeremy. Llandinam : a glimpse of the past. Llandinam : Jeremy Pryce, 2002. 164p

Steeds, David. David Davies, Llandinam, and international affairs. Transactions of the Honourable Society of Cymmrodorion 2002, 9 (2003), 122-134.

Thomas, Archdeacon       The Rowley Morris Deeds        Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 33  1904   Welsh Journals Online

Thomas, Ivor. Top Sawyer : a biography of David Davies of Llandinam. Carmarthen : Golden Grove Editions, 1938,1988(reprint). 355p

Welsh Land Commission. Summary of the evidence of Mr. Edward Davies, Plas-Dinam, Llandinam : given at Newtown, November 5th, 1894. Newtown : "Express & Times" Office, 1894. 39p

Williams, Gwyn A. Architect of empire : Gwyn A. Williams charts the astonishing rise and fall of nineteenth-century imperial Wales with the help of a new biography by Herbert Williams of the Welsh entrepreneur, David Davies of Llandinam. New Welsh Review 5/2 (1992), p. 42-5

Typescript of an unpublished biography[c1953] of Lord Davies of Llandinam  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llandinam parish 1841-1901

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re Caerau Wesleyan M Chapel, Llandinam

Llandinam Presbyterian (Calvinistic Methodist) Church  - on the People's Collection Wales site

The original Wesleyan Chapel built in 1841, now a private residence  - on the People's Collection Wales site

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Llonio's Church

Church of St Llonio, Llandinam on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

• Baptisms 1589-1634, 1636-1675, 1678, 1685-6, 1689-90, 1703-6, 1712-1771, 1774, 1783-4, 1787, 1789, 1793-6, 1800, 1802-1928; Marriages 1591-1634, 1636-1675, 1678, 1685-6, 1689-90, 1703-6, 1712-1970; Burials 1587-1615, 1636-1675, 1678, 1685-6, 1689-90, 1703-6, 1712-1771, 1799, 1802-1929
  [Banhadlog chapel ? -  Baptisms 1784-1805]
  Banhadlog chapel -  Baptisms 1840-1965; Marriages 1841-1954; Burials 1843-1958
  Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.  
  Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW 

Aerial photograph of Llidiart-y-Waun Windfarm, Llandinam, 2001 - on the People's Collection Wales site

• Geograph
• Flickr

• The transcription of the section for Llandinam from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
• A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llandinam to another place.

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

• David Davies of Llandinam Papers   1836-1907       "David Davies (1818-1890), industrialist and MP. He was born at Llandinam, Montgomeryshire, the eldest of nine children of David and Elizabeth Davies..................."   
• Morgan, Richard, of Llandinam, will  [1848]     "Richard Morgan (d. [1848]) of Aberborthin, Llandinam, Montgomeryshire, was a blacksmith; he owned property in Llandinam and a farm called Wern in Church Stoke, Montgomeryshire"   

Llandinam Hall c1910  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Engraving of Llandinam, c. 1823 - on the People's Collection Wales site

David Davies at Broneirion with his gundog  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

• Crewe Read (BRA 1983) deeds     "Deeds and documents, 1870-1907, concerning the estates of the Crewe-Read family of Llandinam Hall, Montgomeryshire"  
• Beadnell Estate deeds and papers     "Deeds and papers relating to Treflogau, Bryn-yr-hesglyn, Lluest Peter and other properties in the parish of Llandinam, 1624-1906.........."  
• British Records Association Montgomeryshire Records     "Deeds and related documents of the Davies family of Newtown relating to Perthygwibedin Farm, Llandinam, and other Montgomeryshire property, 1774-1828 ...................."  
• Carnedd, Montgomeryshire, lease         "Lease, 1657, relating to properties in the lordship of Carnedd in [?Llandinam], Montgomeryshire"  
• Jones, R., Pwllan Cottage, Llandinam, diary   "Photocopy, [late 20th century], of the diary (original 1854) of R. Jones of Pwllan Cottage, Llandinam"  
• Llandinam estates, account books     "Financial records, 1891-1944, relating to the personal estates of David Davies, Llandinam, and his descendants."

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools - Map of Llandinam in 1903, and 1836

Map of Llandinam showing location of historical sites and listed buildings  - on the People's Collection Wales site

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO017853 (Lat/Lon: 52.457031, -3.448205), Llandinam which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

• Llandinam Parish and Community Council records  1894-1977

Llandinam Girl Guides Draw at a War Charities Dance in Llandinam Village Hall  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Llandinam Board School [group picture] built in 1884, a gift from David Davies. Situated on the site of the old Calvinistic Methodist Chapel  - on the People's Collection Wales site