Llandysul / Llandyssil

A collected history of the communities of Llandyssil, Abermule & Llanmerewig. Abermule : Llandyssil Community Council, 1999. 146p

Brown, Roger L. Llandyssil : an uncertain rectory and an uncomfortable living. Montgomeryshire Collections 84 (1996), p. 103-13

Gibson, Alex. A cropmark enclosure and a sherd of later Neolithic pottery from Brynderwen, Llandyssil [sic], Powys. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 78 (1990), p. 11-15

Morris, Philippa. Morris, Davies and Jones in Kerry, Montgomery and Llandyssul. Cronicl Powys. No. 20 (1989), p. 53-61 Parish of Llandyssil : St. Tyssil Parish Church and Bethesda and Moriah Presbyterian Chapels (Memorial Inscriptions). [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, c1996.
PS. The author, who is still researching and has progressed much further than at the time of the article, is happy to hear from any one with relevant queries about Llandyssil ( Peach Trees, Gravesend 2401 NSW)

Smith, Douglas W. Martin Grundman of Llandyssil. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 74 (1986), p. 91

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llandysul parish 1841-1901

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Tyssil's Church

This church is not included in the CPAT's Montgomershire Churches Survey (which covered pre C19th churches only), it is understand that the present church, built 'c 1865' is still in use, and that the earlier church only has a porch surviving and a graveyard

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

• Baptisms 1689-1889; Marriages 1689-1971; Burials 1689-1960
  Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.  
  Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbighshire Archives and/or Flintshire Archives 

• Geograph
• Flickr

• The transcription of the section for Llandysul / Llandyssil from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
• A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llandysul / Llandyssil to another place.

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Llandysul in 1843, and 1901

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO190952 (Lat/Lon: 52.548301, -3.195477), Llandysul / Llandyssil which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

• Llandyssil Parish and Community Council Records  1894-1976

Victorian Powys for schools site - Inspector's report on Llandyssil National school in 1867 and Log Book entry from 1888