Hide
Llanfechain
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"LLANVECHAN, or LLAN-YN-MECHAIN, a parish in the hundred of Pool, county of MONTGOMERY, NORTH WALES, 4 miles (E. by N.) from Llanvyllin. The population is returned with that of Guilsfield. The name of this place is derived from its situation nearly in the centre of a beautiful vale in the north-eastern part of the county, of circular form, and about three miles in diameter, watered by the meandering river Cain, and from that circumstance called Mechain, or Mach Cain, "the tract of the Cain." ... The church, dedicated to St. Garmon, is an ancient and venerable structure : near it is Fynnon Armon, the well of the patron saint, ..." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833]
Hide
Parish of Llanfechain : Parish Church of St. Garmon and Soar Presbyterian Chapel : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1997. 100pWilliams, W Maddocks. A slight historical and topographical sketch of the parish of Llanfechain in the county of Montgomery. London : Richards, 1872. 84p
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llanfechain parish 1841-1901
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants. Parish statistics; Area 4462 acres; Population 340 males, 353 females, total 693
|
Church of St Garmon, Llanfechain on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site
Llanfechain Chapel (Welsh Calvinistic Methodist;soar), Llanfechain - on the People's Collection Wales site
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1603-1705, 1707-1993; Marriages 1603-1705, 1707-1870; Burials 1603-1705, 1707-1993; Banns 1824-1984
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives (the latter may have fuller coverage within the above dates).
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbighshire Archives and/or Flintshire Archives
St Asaph Notitiae; Deanery of Pool, parish of Llanfechain 1681 & 1686 - on the NLW site
Various landscape photographs of the area and surrounds - on the People's Collection Wales site
Originally from Llanfechain, Montgomeryshire, Richard Ellis and his wife Frances were members of the first contingency of emigrants who sailed to Patagonia in 1865. After settling in the Welsh Settlement they migrated to Patagones and Uruguay before eventually settling in Rosario, Santa Fe province. Richard Ellis kept this diary for 51 years, from 1865 to 1916. - - on the People's Collection Wales site
- The transcription of the section for Llanfechain from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanfechain to another place.
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Bodynfoel, deeds "Deeds, 1627-1823, relating to properties in the township of Bodynfoel in the parish of Llanfechain, Montgomeryshire."
- Dr John Griffiths Collection of Diserth and Llanfechain Deeds Include "............ properties of the Jones family of Bryncynfelin in the parish of Llanfechain, 1651-1782"
Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses
Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Llanfechain in 1902, and 1840
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ184201 (Lat/Lon: 52.772388, -3.21114), Llanfechain which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Llanfechain Parish, records "Records of Llanfechain ecclesiastical parish, Montgomeryshire, 1705-1968, including ecclesiastical records, 1705-1956, including terriers, 1705-1856, and records relating to restorations to St Garmon's Church, 1838-1956; plans relating to a proposed new rectory, 1805, and village hall, 1897; records of Poor Law administration, 1735-1848, including bonds, summonses, settlement examinations and removal orders; records relating to tithes, 1838-1922, including tithe apportionments, 1838-1839; enclosure award and map, 1798; records relating to Llanfechain School and other local schools, 1875-1968; papers relating to various local charities, 1837-1956; deeds and valuations relating to properties in Llanfechain, 1785-1921; records relating to the upkeep of roads and bridges, 1794-1874; enumerator's returns for the census and ecclesiastical census, 1851"