Hide
Llanfyllin
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"LLANVYLLIN (LLAN-VYLLIN), a borough, market town, and parish, in the lower division of the hundred of LLANVYLLIN, county of MONTGOMERY, NORTH WALES, 20 miles (N. N. W.) from Montgomery, 12 (N. W. by N.) from Welshpool, and 183 (N. W. by W.) from London, containing 1836 inhabitants. This place derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Myllin, or Mewn Llyn, concerning whom a tradition is extant that he was the first baptist ever known in Britain, and from being constantly in the water baptizing and inviting those who passed by to partake of that ceremony, was called by the natives St. Mewn Llyn, or "the Saint in the Pool."... " [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833]
Hide
Album Aberhonddu : neu, gofeb-lyfr darluniadol, yn cynwys byr-gofiantau, a 267 o ddarluniau o'r myfyrwyr, a baratowyd i'r weinidgoaeth Annibynol yn y Fenni, Croesoswallt, Gwrecsam, Llanfyllin, Drefnewydd, ac Aberhonddu, o'r flwyddyn 1755 hyd 1880; gyda'r athrawon a'r colegdai. Merthyr Tydfil : Joseph Williams, 1898. 316pChapman, Murray Ll. The development of Llanfyllin as a market town and the 1789 Llanfyllin Market House Act. Montgomeryshire Collections 85 (1997), p. 23-49
Cozens, Lewis. The Llanfyllin railway. London : Lewis Cozens, [1959] 56p
Davies, D Milton. The struggles of Independency at Llanfyllin : a short narrative of facts connected with the church-worshipping at Pendref Chapel from its origin in 1640 to the present time; in a letter addressed to the Rev. R. Williams, M.A., rector of the parish; with a postscript. Llanfyllin : Printed at the 'Annibynwr' office, 1863. 19p
Dugdale, J Marshall A history of the parish of Llanfyllin from 1861 to 1915 Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire Vol 38 1917 Welsh Journals Online
Edwards, T. [Hanes] Ysgolion Sabbothol Methodistiaid Calfinaidd Dosbarth Llanfyllin. Llanrhaiadr : T. J. Lloyd, Argraffydd, [1901?] 4p
Ganley, Colin. The Llanfyllin railway : the story of a border branch line. Back Track 8 (1994), p. 129-36 Handbook for the Town of Llanfyllin : containing topographical and historical description of the town, &c, &c, &c. Llanfyllin : printed at the 'Annibynwr' Office, 1863. 60p
[ Hanes cyfarfod] dosbarth Ysgolion Sabbothol Llanfyllin. Llanfyllin : S. Bryan, Argraffydd, [1882?] 2p
Humphreys, Melvin. Llanfyllin : portrait of an age. Llanfyllin : Llanfyllin and District Civic Society, 2002. 146p
Kretchmer, Richard. Llanfyllin : a pictorial history. Welshpool : Llanfyllin : The Powysland Club ; Llanfyllin and District Civic Society, 1992. 205p Llanfyllin Town Hall. Welshpool : Montgomery District Council, 1991.
Llanfyllin Old Church, 1706 Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire and its borders Vol 32 1902 Welsh Journals Online
Loyn, Henry R. Llanfyllin : the charter and the laws of Breteuil. Montgomeryshire Collections 85 (1997), p. 13-21 Monumental inscriptions. Pendref Independent Chapel. No: MM4, ; Parish of Llanfyllin. [S.l] : Powys Family History Society, 1993. 40p
Page-Jones, Pauline. "Bid ben, bid bont" : Llanfyllin High School : a history of its development over one hundred years. Llanfyllin : Ysgol Uwchradd Llanfyllin, 1997. 132p Parish of Llanfyllin : municipal cemetery : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2003. 160p
Roberts, Williams. A history of the parish of Llanfyllin. London : [s.n.] [1870?] 112p The borough pocket guide to Llanfyllin (Montgomeryshire). Cheltenham : Edward J. Burrow, [1909] 36p
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llanfyllin parish 1841-1901
| St Myllin, Llanfyllin |
| Pen-Dref Welsh Independent Chapel;Capel Annibynnol Pendref;Pendu, Pen-Dref |
| Siloh Independent Sunday School, Llanfyllin |
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants. Parish statistics; Area 7923 acres; Population 937 males, 995 females, total 1932
|
See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Myllin's Church
See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re Tabernacle Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Lower Bridge St, Llanfyllin
Church of St Myllin, Llanfyllin on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site
Church/chapel photographs - on the People's Collection Wales site
- Church, Llanfyllin, and interior
- Pendref Chapel (Cong), Llanfyllin
- Tabernacle chapel (W), Llanfyllin
Wesleyan churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Tabernacl
Baptist churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Carmel, and Soar
Calvinistic Methodist (Presbyterian) churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Llawrycwm, and Moriah
Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Llanfyllin section (in Welsh) has been extracted - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Dec 2009)
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1654, 1660-1, 1664-1875; Marriages 1669-1708, 1711-1939; Burials 1665-1956; Banns 1871-1963
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbighshire Archives and/or Flintshire Archives
Llanfyllin - on wikipedia
Victorian Powys for schools site - Llanfyllin and district
Various landscape photographs of the area and surrounds - on the People's Collection Wales site
- The transcription of the section for Llanfyllin from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanfyllin to another place.
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Morris Davies, Llanfyllin Diaries 1823-1842 "19 diaries which consist of bare entries in the form of personal and place names. Some include lists of individuals who were receiving the periodical, Y Drysorfa . Some notes made in shorthand"
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Bodfach estate, records 1736-1846 "This small estate was owned successively by the Lloyd and Kyffin families of Bodfach, Llanfyllin, Montgomeryshire, until the marriage, in 1738, of Elizabeth Kyffin, daughter and heiress of William Kyffin of Bodfach, with Adam Pryse of Glan Meheli, Kerry, Montgomeryshire.................."
- Bryan collection of Llanfyllin deeds "Deeds and documents, 1591-1901, relating to properties in the Llanfyllin area, Montgomeryshire, and to Shropshire."
- E. Lloyd Jones Deeds "Robert Jones of Llanfyllin, Montgomeryshire, bought a farm called Ty yn y Godwr in the township of Bodran, Llanfyllin, 1821 ............"
- Llwyn Estate Records 1623-1949 "The Llwyn estate was owned by the Humffreys family of Llanfyllin from at least the late seventeenth century....................."
- Meadows, The, Llanfyllin, records "Sales particulars with maps, 1832-1961, relating to properties in Montgomeryshire; miscellaneous records of The Meadows, formerly Llanfyllin Workhouse, 1939-1982"
Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses
Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Llanfyllin in 1850, and 1902
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ115198 (Lat/Lon: 52.768392, -3.313666), Llanfyllin which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Mayor, John Lomax of Llwyn presenting Freedom of the Borough to Captain William M Evans (DSO) and Major W M Dugdale (DSO) in October 1918. Ceremony took place in Town Hall but was re-enacted in rectory garden - on the People's Collection Wales site
Llanfyllin War Memorial - on the People's Collection Wales site
Victorian Powys for schools site - Llanfyllin Union Workhouse
Llanfyllin Workhouse - on Peter Higginbotham's site
Items relating to the Llanfyllin Workhouse - on the People's Collection Wales site
- Extract from amended dietary table for Llanfyllin Workhouse approved by the Poor Law Commissioners
- Notice to Ratepayers issued by the Guardians of Llanfyllin Poor Law Union concerning action to reduce the number of bastard children [1842]
- Notice of Meeting of the Board of Guardians of Llanfyllin Poor Law Union concerning the relief given to able-bodied paupers [1840]
- The Llanfyllin Union Workhouse was one of several hundred built across England and Wales after 1834, the year in which parliament passed the Poor Law Amendment Act. - collection
- Various oral histories
- Llanfyllin Poor Law Union - map showing parish boundaries and principal watercourses.
- Old postcard showing the Workhouse from above
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Poor Law Union records 1841-1972
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Llanfyllin Borough Council, records 1848-1977 (mainly 1935-1977)
- Llanfyllin Rural District Council, records 1901-1974
Llanfyllin fair c1885 - on the People's Collection Wales site
Concert poster 1916 - on the People's Collection Wales site