Hide
Llanidloes
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"LLANIDLOES (LLAN-IDLOES), a newly created borough, market town, and parish, in the upper division of the hundred of LLANIDLOES, county of MONTGOMERY, NORTH WALES, 26 1/2 miles (S. W.) from Welshpool, 22 (W. S. W.) from Montgomery, and 193 (W. N. W.) from London, containing 4189 inhabitants. This parish, which is of considerable extent, derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Idloes, an eminent British saint, who flourished about the middle of the sixth century. The town is situated in a beautiful and fertile vale, watered by the river Severn, which has its source within the parish, ..." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833]
Hide
Centenary : 1894-1994 : Llanidloes High School = Canmlwyddiant : 1894-1994 : Ysgol Uwchradd Llanidloes. Llanidloes : Ysgol Uwchradd Llanidloes, 1994. 21pCroeso i dref Llanidloes. [Llanidloes] : Llanidloes Chamber of Trade, [1990] David Henry Mills : of Liverpool, formerly of Llanidloes : letters sent to Edward Evans in the United States of America and Canada between June 1857 and July 1861. Welshpool : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, c1999. 26p
Davies, J Iorwerth. The history of printing in Montgomeryshire, 1789-1960 : the printers of Llanidloes, 1827-1960. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 73 (1985), p. 38-53
Gaddwin, Anthony H. Select pedigree of the Bowen family of Tyddyn (Llanidloes). Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 74 (1986), p. facing p92
Hamer, Edward. A brief account of the Chartist outbreak at Llanidloes in the year 1839. Llanidloes : John Pryse, 1867. 32p
Holden, John. Llanidloes : notes on the old station. Welsh Railway Archive 1 (1991), p. 108-9
Horsfall-Turner, Ernest R. A municipal history of Llanidloes. Llanidloes : Printed and Published for the Author by John Ellis, Caxton Printing Works, 1908. 271p
Humphreys, Melvin. The Llanidloes riot of 1721. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 75 (1987), p. 107-15
Jones, David Ll. Llanidloes (Montgomeryshire). In The Welsh language and the 1891 census p.315-336
Jones, Ieuan E. The enclosure of the Llanidloes and Caersws Commons. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 73 (1985), p. 54-68
Market Hall, Llanidloes Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire Vol 34 1907 Welsh Journals Online
Morris, E Ronald. A pictorial survey of old Llanidloes. Llanidloes : Powysland Club, 1988. 300p
Morris, E Ronald. Chartism in Llanidloes, 1838-1839. Llanidloes : The Llanidloes Chartist Celebration Committee, 1989. 96p
Morris, E Ronald. Llanidloes town and parish : an illustrated account. Llanidloes : Great Oak Bookshop, 1993. 166p
Morris, E Ronald. Two branches of the Hamer family - Llanidloes district, with a brief reference to Edward Hamer (1840-1911), historian. Cronicl Powys. No. 18 (1988), p. 30-33
Morris, E Ronald. A list of headteachers in some of the board schools in Llanidloes district and also of Llanidloes National School, 1845-c.1980. Cronicl Powys. No. 25 (1991/92), p. 6-9
Morris, E Ronald. Some account of the descendants of Reynold (Rheinallt) Cleaton (1716-1792) of Llanidloes. Cronicl Powys. No. 21 (1989), p. 45-49
Mytton-Davies, Cynric. Newtown and Llanidloes; the official guide. Carshalton : Home Publishing, [1970] 36p
O'Neil, B H St J The Castle and Borough of Llanidloes Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire Vol 43 1934 Welsh Journals Online
Owen, Brian. The history of the War Memorial Hospital Llanidloes 1920-1948. Llanidloes : Llanidloes Hospital League of Friends, 1998. 158p
Owen, Brian. The Newtown and Llanidloes Poor Law Union Workhouse, Caersws, 1837-1847. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 78 (1990), p. 115-60
Owen, Cecil E V. Llanidloes : the Chartist outbreak. Llandrindod Wells : Powys County Council, 1981.
Owen, Cecil E V. Llanidloes Parish Church : Diocese of Bangor : Archdeaconary of Merioneth : Rural-deanery of Arwystli. [Llanidloes] : [Llanidloes Parish Church], [1990] 12p Parish of Llanidloes. (Memorial Inscriptions) [Welshpool] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1997. 52p. And 2000, 90p. And 2002, 90p.
Parish of Llanidloes: Bethel Cemetery, Deildre Clavinistic Methodist Chapel, Eastgate Street Wesleyan Methodist Chapel,Capel Bethel (C.M.)[Bethel Hall], Capel Neuadd (Calvinistic Methodist), Long Bridge Street Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Oakley Park Presbyterian Chapel, Bethel Street Presbyterian (C.M.) Chapel,Church of Our Lady & St Richard Gwyn (R.C.), Short Bridge Street Baptist Chapel, town inscriptions, Van Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, Welsh Presbyterian (C.M.) Chapel, Zion United Reformed Chapel: memorial inscriptions. [S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , 2000. 152p
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Milwyn Jenkins & Jenkins, Solicitors, Llanidloes, records "Records of Milwyn Jenkins & Jenkins, Solicitors, 1892-1977, comprising correspondence, 1922-1956, and ledgers and other financial records, 1892-1977; miscellaneous records of Llanidloes Gas, Coal & Coke Company Ltd, 1860-1949."
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llanidloes parish 1841-1901
| St Idloes, Llanidloes |
| Llanidloes English Baptist Church, Llanidloes |
| Mizpah Baptist Chapel (Glanynant Sunday School), Glan-Y-Nant |
| Zion Baptist Chapel, Llanidloes |
| Zion Congregational Church;Sion;Llanidloes United Reformed, Llanidloes |
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants. Parish statistics; Area 15790 acres;
|
See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re Newchapel Baptist Chapel
See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of ;
- Llanidloes, St Idloes Church
- Glanhafren/Glynhafren Congregational Chapel
Church of St Idloes, Llanidloes on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site
Wesleyan churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Long Bridge Street
Baptist churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Short Bridge Street Baptist chapel
Independent churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - 'Zion' United Reformed Church
Ceremony to mark the installation of a fine new organ at the China Street Calvinistic Methodist chapel in Llanidloes on 6 May 1896 - on the People's Collection Wales site
The programme for a 'Grand Concert' of vocal and instrumental music at the Old Bethel Chapel in Llanidloes on 21 February 1879 - on the People's Collection Wales site
General Assembly, Llanidloes 1867 - on the People's Collection Wales site
Calvinistic Methodist (Presbyterian) churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site :-
- Bethel Street
- Bethel St, English
- China St
- Neuadd or Old Hall
- Oakley Park
Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Llanidloes chapel (in Welsh )- with translation by Maureen Saycell (Jan 2010) Also Glynhafren chapel - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Jan 2010)
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1616-49, 1654-5, 1658, 1660-1830; Marriages 1614-49, 1662-83, 1687-90, 1695-7, 1711-1990; Burials 1614-44, 1647-8, 1661-87, 1692 -1840; Banns 1823-1847
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, SOG and/or Powys Archives
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
Victorian Powys for schools site - Llanidloes and the Upper Severn Valley
Llanidloes Castle on the Castle Wales site
Llanidloes - on Wikipedia
Various landscape photographs of the area and surrounds - on the People's Collection Wales site
- The transcription of the section for Llanidloes from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanidloes to another place.
Victorian Powys for schools site - Llanidloes and the Chartists
Various historic photographs - on the People's Collection Wales site
- Llanidloes Fair and Market c1910-1920
- The Britannia Inn in Short Bridge Street, Llanidloes in the early 1900s
- The front page of a rather worn leaflet issued in 1900 by the Llanidloes Workingmen's Institute and Library, which was established in the town in 1871
- A government notice issued in May 1839, offering a reward for the recapture of two local men involved in Chartist protests in Llanidloes
- Opening of the new Town Hall, Llanidloes, 1908
- Cambrian Mill, Llanidloes, which was destroyed by fire in November 1889
- Velindre Mill, Llanidloes
- Grocery bill, Llanidloes, 1903
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Carol Vincent Davies Collection Mid 20th centruy - early 21st century "Mr Davies was a native of Llanidloes; he was a keen photographer, recording most of the significant events which happened in and around Llanidloes for many years. He was a member of the Powysland Club, and also photographed their outings"
- Deposited collections 1812-1874 "During the 19th century the railway system developed in Great Britain. British Rail which used to be British Railways was in charge of the British railway system, from the nationalisation of the British railway companies in 1948 until its privatisation between 1994 and 1997. The Mid Wales Railway line went from Llanidloes to Talyllyn. ...................."
Hearth Tax for Llanidloes hundred, 1671 - on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Montgomeryshire Deeds and Documents from the Bryson Collection "Deeds and schedules of deeds relating to property in Llanidloes and Berriew, Montgomeryshire, 1771-[1912];......"
- Deeds and papers of the Green Estate, Llanidloes. 1702-1925 "The Green (or Green House), Llanidloes, Montgomeryshire, was owned by the Price family. Thomas Marsh Price ([1815]-1848) of the Green married Anne, daughter of William and Elizabeth Howell...................."
- Llanidloes fire insurance policies, from Midland Bank "Fire insurance policies, 1855, relating to properties in Llanidloes, Montgomeryshire"
Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses
Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Llanidloes in 1836, and 1903
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SN908861 (Lat/Lon: 52.462271, -3.60815), Llanidloes which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Llanidloes Military Camp c1910-1920 - on the People's Collection Wales site
Various military marches in Llanidloes 1910-1920 - on the People's Collection Wales site
Infantry brigade at Llanidloes, 1914 - on the People's Collection Wales site
Victorian Powys for schools site - Lead mining in Llanidloes and The Flannel Industry
A range of group photographs - on the People's Collection Wales site
- A group of workers from the Railway Foundry at Llanidloes pictured around 1919
- The staff of the Llanidloes Post Office pictured outside the premises in Long Bridge Street in the early 1900s
- Sheep shearers, Llanidloes, 1890s
- Woollen mill workers, Llanidloes, 1890s
- Workers of the Hosiery Depot, Llanidloes c1885
- Interior of Spring Mills, Llanidloes, c. 1885
- Journal of Constable Thomas Jones, 27 June - 1st July, 1843
A list of local mines - on the Mindat.org site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- John Mills and Co., Pumlumon area mining records "Miscellaneous records of John Mills and Co. relating to various lead, copper and other mines in the Llanidloes area and elsewhere in Montgomeryshire, [1895]-1963, including agreements, 1898-1907, and letters, 1910-1963."
- Mines and Quarries Inspectorate Montgomeryshire records 1868-1938 Including "Cwm Ricket and Maesnant lead mines, Llanidloes; Llanidloes, near Brynposteg Hill; Van Central, Llanidloes; Bwylch Creolan Mine, Pen-y-bont Fawr; Dyfngwm Mines, Hirnant Minerals Ltd; West Llangynog Mine; Dylife Mine, Llechwedd Ddu Mine, Penegoes"
Newtown and Llanidloes Workhouse - on Peter Higginbotham's site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Llanidloes and District Nursing Association, records 1894-1961
- Llanidloes Borough, records 1879-1974
Victorian Powys for schools site - The early days of the local schools
Various group photogtraphs - on the People's Collection Wales site
- Llanidloes Leather Works jazz band, 1930s
- Group at Vaenor Park, Llanidloes (1867)