Hide
Llanwnnog
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"LLANWNNOG (LLAN-WYNNOG), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of LLANIDLOES, county of MONTGOMERY, NORTH WALES, 6 1/2 miles (W. by N.) from Newtown, containing 1355 inhabitants. The name of this place is derived from the dedication of its church to St. Gwynnog, an eminent member of the congregation of Catwg, who flourished about the middle of the sixth century, and was canonized after his decease. The parish is bounded on the south by the river Severn, which is joined near Caer-Sws, in this parish, by the Tarannon stream, which descends into it through the Vale of Treveglwys. ...' [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833]
Hide
Parish of Llanwnog : nonconformist chapels, etc. - : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1998. 82p
Parish of Llanwnog, Parish Church of St. Gwynog : memorial inscriptions. Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society. 86p
The Llanwnog Millennium book : a collection of memories and photographs. Llanwnog : Llanwnog Social Committee, 2000. 88p
Pryce, T Davies The fort at Caersws and the Roman occupation of Wales Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire Vol 42 1932 Welsh Journals Online
Wainwright, Lena. Llanwnog census 1841-1891. Llanwnog ; Llanwnog Social Committee, 2000. 24p
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llanwnog parish 1841-1901
| Seion Welsh Independent Chapel (Zion), Llanwnnog |
| Chapel, Caersws |
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants. Parish statistics; Area 10701 acres; Population 819 males, 826 females, total 1645
|
See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re
- St Mary's Church, Caersws
- Presbyterian Church, Caersws
- St Gwynnog's Church, Llanwnnog
See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Caersws, Presbyterian Church
Church, Llanwnnog - on the People's Collection Wales site
Church of St Gwynnog, Llanwnnog on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site
Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Llanwnog section (in Welsh) has been extracted - with translation by Maureen Saycell (March 2010)
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1668-1775, 1783-1873; Marriages 1668-1911; Burials 1668-1882; Banns 1823-1849, 1875-1899
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
Historic Landscape Characterisation - Caersws Basin on the Clwyd-Powys Archaeological Trust site
Aerial photograph of Caersws Roman Fort on the People's Collection Wales site
- The transcription of the section for Llanwnnog from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanwnnog to another place.
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Mawn family, pedigree 1849 "William Mawn married Sarah Howell at Llanwnog, Montgomeryshire, in 1773. Their descendants lived in Llanwnog and Mochdre in the 19th century."
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Henblas estate, Llanwnnog, papers "Papers of the Jones family of Henblas, in the parish of Llanwnnog, Montgomeryshire, including deeds, 1611-1827, copy and draft wills and miscellaneous documents and letters, 1862-1933, veterinary recipes, 1809-20 cent., log book of the Llanwnnog National School, 1863-1876, and memoranda book kept by John Jones relating to his office as petty constable of the township of Pencoed in the parish of Llanwyddelan, 1809-1821"
Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses
Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Caersws in 1836, and 1903
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO013949 (Lat/Lon: 52.543045, -3.456874), Llanwnnog which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Victorian Powys for schools site - Caersws Workhouse
Powys - A Day in the Life - Llanwnog school in 1891