Hide
Pontrobert
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"PONT-ROBERT, a hamlet in Meifod parish, and a chapelry partly also in Llanfihangel and Llangyniew parishes, Montgomery. The hamlet lies on the river Vyrnwy, 7½ miles S W of Llanfyllin r. station, and 12 W N W of Welshpool; and has a post-office under Welshpool. The chapelry was constituted in 1854. ..." [From John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72 on A Vision of Britain through Time.]
Hide
A parish formed out of Meifod, Llangynyw & Llanfihangel-yng-Ngwynfa in 1854
Hide
Parish of Llangyniew : Parish Church of St Cynyw, Bontnewydd Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, Pontrobert Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, Peniel Independent Chapel village inscription : memorial inscriptions.[S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1999. 70p
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Williams, Lot, shoemaker's records 1856-1902 "John Williams (fl. 1857-1875) and Lot Williams (fl. 1857-1902) were shoemakers based in Pontrobert, Montgomeryshire."
| Independent Chapel (1);Ann Griffiths Chapel, Pontrobert |
| Seion Welsh Independent Chapel, Pontrobert |
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
|
John Hughes' Chapel, Pontrobert c 1920s - on the People's Collection Wales site
Wesleyan chapel, Pontrobert in 1920s - on the People's Collection Wales site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Capel Pontrobert, cofysgrifau (records) 1913-1914 "Adeiladwyd capel Pontrobert, Meifod, plwyf Llangynyw, Sir Drefaldwyn yn 1800, ond fe'i defnyddiwyd fel ysgol am gyfnod pan oedd John Hughes Pontrobert yn dysgu yno. Ordeiniwyd ef yn weinidog gyda'r Methodistiaid yn 1814 a daeth yr adeilad yn gapel eto, gyda John Hughes a'i wraig Ruth yn byw yn y ty. Gelwir y capel hwn yn Hen Gapel John Hughes, ac ailagorwyd y drysau yn 1995 fel 'Canolfan Undod ac adnewyddiad Cristnogol i'r genedl'.
Adeiladwyd Capel Newydd Pontrobert, a elwir hefyd yn Capel uchaf, yn 1865 ac fe'i sefydlwyd yn yr un flwyddyn. Fe gostiodd dros £500 i'w adeiladu, ac fe gliriwyd y rhan fwyaf o'r ddyled trwy gynnal casgliad cyffredinol trwy Sir Drefaldwyn."
A parish formed out of Meifod, Llangynyw & Llanfihangel-yng-Ngwynfa in 1854
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1853-1994; Marriages 1853-1970; Burials 1857-1994
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts - none detailed for the separate parish
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Pontrobert to another place.
Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ107127 (Lat/Lon: 52.704577, -3.32307), Pontrobert which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.