Hide
Rhaeadr Gwy / Rhayader
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"RHAIADR, a borough, market town, and parish, in the hundred of RHAIADR, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 16 miles (W. N. W.) from New Radnor, 23 (W.) from Presteign, and 177 (W. N. W) from London, containing 669 inhabitants. This place, the name of which signifies a cataract, is by the Welsh more commonly called " Rhaiadr Gwy," from its situation on the river Wye,................The town is evidently of great antiquity ..............The town is situated on the eastern bank of the river Wye, and on the turnpike roads leading respectively from Worcester through New Radnor to Aberystwith, and from Builth in Brecknockshire to Llanidloes, in the county of Montgomery...................The principal market is on Wednesday, and a smaller market, chiefly for butchers' meat and other provisions, is held on Saturday : here are also held great cattle markets, on the four Wednesdays next after Old May day (May 12th.) The fairs are on August 6th and 27th, September 26th, October 14th, and December 3rd. .............Rhaiadr anciently formed part of the parish of Nantmel, from which it was severed, and was erected into a parish of itself, co-extensive with the borough, about the year 1735,............. The living is a perpetual curacy, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, endowed with half the tithes, and with £ 1000 royal bounty, and in the patronage of the Vicar of Nantmel. The church, dedicated to St. Bridget.............There are places of worship for Independents and Calvinistic and Wesleyan Methodists. .................The poor are maintained by an average annual expenditure amounting to £ 165. 12. ."( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)
Hide
Booth, Richard. Rhayader guide. Richard Booth Publications, 1981. 32pCharities in the borough of Rhayader in the county of radnor... Brecon : E. Poole, pr., 1857.
Cotsell, Maureen P. Price and Pugh families of Rhayader. Cronicl Powys, No. 30 (December 1993), 31.
Evans, L H. Rhayader and the highlands and lakes of Mid-Wales. [Rhayader] : Rhayader Town Improvement Committee, [19--] 32p
Fenn, R W D & James Sinclair 'Our ubiquitous friend', S W Williams, FSA, FRIBA, FSI, 1837-1899 Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 59 1989 Welsh Journals Online
Hamer, W Bowen Treasurer Trove near Rhayader Radnorshire Society Transactions vol. 14 1944 Welsh Journals Online
Hinchcliffe, J B. 120 views of Builth Wells : Llandrindod Wells, Elan Valley Waterworks, Llanwrtyd Wells, Llangammarch Wells, Newbridge-on-Wye, Rhayader etc. Builth Wells : J.B. Hinchliffe, [1909] 36p
Hughes, Colin P F. Elementary schools in Rhaeadr and north-west Radnorshire. Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 64 1994 Welsh Journals Online
Jenkins, J Geraint. The Rhaeadr Tannery. [Cardiff] : Welsh Folk Museum, 1973. 30p
Lawrence, Bryan. New friendly society of Rhayader and Llansantffraid Cwmdauddwr. Cronicl Powys. No. 55 (Apr. 2002), p. 41-44
Percival, David The boundary of the medieval grange of Dolhelfa Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 63 1993 Welsh Journals Online
Price, G Rhayader Gwy: Bwgey - my village, a cataract of the Wye Radnorshire Society Transactions vol. 19 1949 Welsh Journals Online
Rhayader : gateway to the Elan valley : a useful and informative guide to 'The Lakeland of Wales'. Oxford : Rural Publications, 1994. 48p
Stratton, J A Doldowlod Station, fifty years on Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 36 1966 Welsh Journals Online
The Rural District of Rhayader, Radnorshire : the official guide. Gloucester : British Publishing Co., [1972] 52p The Welsh spa album : containing artistic views, in colour, of Llandrindood Wells, Llangammarch Wells, Llanwrtyd Wells, Builth wells, Rhayader & Elan Valley, &c. Llandrindod Wells : W. Thomas, [1905?] 16 folded leaves
Williams, David H. Commander Horatio James, R.N. of Penralley, Rhayader (1789-1850). Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 61 1991 Welsh Journals Online
Williams, Stephen W. Rhayader and its antiquities. London : Printed at the Bedford Press, 1898. 27p Reprinted from "Montgomeryshire Collections", Vol. XXX.
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- R. D. Ryder and Son, ironmongers and furniture sales, Rhayader, records 1903-1964
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Rhayader parish 1841-1901
| Nant Gwyllt Chapel Of Ease And Church, Llansantffraed-Cwmdeuddwr |
| Nantgwyllt Church / Garreg-Ddu Dam, Elan Valley |
| St Clement, Rhayader |
| Bethania Baptist Chapel (2), New Elan Village |
| Bethania Chapel (1), Old Elan Village |
| Bethel Church, Rhaeadr |
| North Street Bethel Baptist Chapel, Rhaeadr |
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants. Rhayader Parish including the Borough of Rhayadr; Statistics; Area 188 acres; Population 384 males, 445 females, total 829
|
See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Rhayder St Clements
Church of St Clement, Rhayader on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site
Tabernacle United Reformed Church;Independent Chapel, Bridge St./West St., Rhaeadr, Rhayader, on the People's Collection Wales site
Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Rhayader section (in Welsh) has been extracted - with translation by Maureen Saycell (July 2009)
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1751-1992; Marriages 1761-1980; Burials 1759-1903, 1909-1992; Banns 1828-1968
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.
Some CMB 1737-8,1743 are entered in earliest extant vestry book (pp 256, 258)
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
Rhayader Castle on the Castle Wales site
Victorian Powys for schools - Rhayader and District
Rhaiadyr Bridge, Radnorshire on the People's Collection Wales site
Elan Valley railway junction, c. 1900 on the People's Collection Wales site
- The transcription of the section for Rhaeadr Gwy / Rhayader from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Rhaeadr Gwy / Rhayader to another place.
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Penralley papers 1656-1991 "James Jones (d. 1774) left the Penralley property in Rhayader, Radnorshire, to his nephew, John James (1737-1790), a lieutenant in the Royal Navy. In 1780" "Correspondence, deeds and papers of various members of the James and Williams families of Penralley in the town of Rhayader, Radnorshire, including ships' log books, ships' orders and other naval records, 18-19 cent., and the papers of Lieutenant John James RN (1737-1790), Commander Horatio James RN (1789-1850), Brigadier-General Horatio James Evans (1859-1932), and Stephen William Williams (1837-1899), county surveyor for Radnorshire and antiquarian"
Rhayader War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site
Street scene in Rhayader, c. 1900 on the People's Collection Wales site
A Welsh Longhouse: Nannerth-ganol on the People's Collection Wales site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Lewis family, of Y Neuadd, Llansanffraid Cwmteuddwr , papers "Records of the Lewis-Lloyd and Lewis families of Nantgwyllt and of their estates, mainly in Llansanffraid Cwmteuddwr , and Rhayader, Radnorshire and Llanwrthwl, Brecknockshire, including deeds and documents relating to the Nantgwyllt and Camdeuddwr estates in Radnorshire, 1579-1902,........"
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Family Search have an interactive map called "England and Wales Jurisdictions 1851" showing parish (and other) boundaries with optional background maps such as Ordnance Survey. There is also a Search facility, do read the guidance notes to get maximum benefit from this useful resource. See here for further background information to assist in the interpretation of this data
Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Rhayader in 1840, and 1904
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SN973681 (Lat/Lon: 52.301761, -3.507943), Rhaeadr Gwy / Rhayader which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Rhayader war memorial on the People's Collection Wales site
Rhayader Workhouse - on Peter Higginbotham's site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Rhayader Poor Law Union records 1836-1948
Victorian Powys for schools - Rhayader School Days
Postcard of Rhayader Town Football Club winning a cup in 1920 on the People's Collection Wales site