Uffculme

Finch, G. Uffculme records in the Wiltshire Record Office. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 35, (1982), 84.

Authers, W P. Diary of a Devonshire Squire, 1844, the Journal of John Were.. Clarke, Esquire of Bridwell, Uffculme. Tiverton: W P Authers (1982) 48p: ill. [ISBN 0950608750]

Blackmore Roy S. The Walrond Family and the Slave trade, Devon Family Historian, vol. 120, (2006) pp.4-5.

Browning, Lynne. What was the occasion?, Devon Family History, vol. 177, (2021) pp.48. [Re: Lawrence Clements White (d.1922).]

Short, Samuel. The diary (1705-1726) of Rev. Samuel Short, dissenting minister at Uffculme, Devon. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries, vol. 23 (1947-1949) pp. 221-240, 251- 253. [Diary extracts, including details of baptisms, marriages and deaths in the nonconformis population of Uffculme and vicinity, with an introductory essay on the history of Nonconformity in Devon.]

MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Uffculme - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Chanter, J.F. The priory of Bodmescombe, Uffculme. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 8:2, (1914) pp.50-56. [Perceptory of Knights Hospitallers. See 8, pp.88, 128.]

According to Peskett, Bradfield chapel has separate registers from 1876; Ashill chapel was built in 1882,without separate registers.

Parish Registers going back to 1538 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1538 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1783-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their Devon Parish List.

Findmypast lists 334 searchable allegations for marriage licences for marriages in Uffculme (1604–1837) in their Sarum Marriage Licence Bonds collection.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

• Crosslands or Cold Harbour Presbyterian/Congregational Chapel, Uffculme and Culmstock: Registers for 1790-1837 (ZC) in PRO RG 4/455
• Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1806-37 - see Cullompton, Tiverton (PRO RG 4/958, 342)

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1542-1837, and Marriages 1538-1753, 1783-1837 (entries in part from Bishops' Transcripts); Cross Lands or Cold Harbour Meeting Christenings 1806-1837.

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Bampton, Bickleigh, Burlescombe, Calverleigh, Clayhanger, Culmstock, Halberton, Hockworthy, Holcombe Rogus, Huntsham, Loxbeare, Morebath, Petton Chapelry, Sampford Peverell, Tiverton St. Peter, Tiverton Cove, Uffculme, Uplowman, Washfield and Willand. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White’s Directory (1850) and Kelly’s Directory of Devonshire (1902), CD-ROM 064, Exeter, Devon FHS (2016). [Bampton Bapt: 1813-1838 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1814-1838; Bickleigh Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1836 Bur: 1800-1837; Burlescombe Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1838 Bur: 1813-1837; Calverleigh Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1757-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Clayhanger Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1833 Bur: 1750-1852; Culmstock Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Halberton Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Hockworthy Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1759-1837 Bur: 1813-1838; Holcombe Rogus Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1844 Bur: 1813-1837; Huntsham Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1755-1836 Bur: 1750-1838; Loxbeare Bapt: 1813-1841 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1983; Morebath Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Petton Chapelry Bampton Parish Bapt: 1813-1839 Bur: 1813-1861; Sampford Peverell Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Tiverton St Peter Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Tiverton Cove Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1682-1837 Bur: 1815-1837; Uffculme Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1783-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Uplowman Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Washfield Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Willand Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837.]

Phillimore, W. P. W. (William Phillimore Watts). "Marriages at Uffculme, 1538-1837", In Devonshire parish registers, vol. 1. London: Phillimore & Co., 1909 (Phillimore's parish register series, vol. 112). [Full text]

List of the Contributors to the Uffculme Meeting in 1718. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries, vol. 23, no. 8 (1948) [With a list of the Protestant Dissenting Ministers of Devon and Cornwall and their ordination dates from 1676-1725]

Section on Uffculme  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Conservation Area Appraisal for Uffculme - an interesting account of the area, with numerous photographs and maps.

Taylor, Anthony. Culm Valley Album, Bradninch, A. Taylor (1987) 191 pp. [Illustrations: 1880-1987] [Westcountry Studies Library xB/CUL 1/1880/TAY]

• Geograph
• Flickr

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Uffculme to another place.

Lane, John. The Cadbury family in Devon. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 12:8, (1923) pp.365-366. [Descent of Cadbury Brothers of Bournville.]

Reichel, Oswald J. The Walrond Papers. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 8:1, (1914) pp.24-26. [Compiled by Charlotte Walrond, (1913). Reviewed, Reichel.]

Trott, Robert. The Trott Family of Uffculme and the Search for Rosa Emily Jones, Devon Family Historian, vol. 154, (2015) pp.16-17.

Uffculme houses Coldharbour Mill, a working wool museum, where the New World Tapestry exhibition is housed.

Weather Reports in the Uffculme Parish Registers, transcribed by Jean Harris.

Churley, P.A. Family Friction and Economic Ils in 19th Century Uffculme, Devon Family Historian, vol. 123, (2007) pp.14-20. [Dispute between Thomas Ballyman Chorley, b. Uffculme 1793, and his brother Robert, b. 1797. "The events, baldly, were a fierce quarrel over familt debt in 1830 that resulted in an accidental kiling, an attempted suicide and an actual suicide, and a subsequent charge of manslaughter."]

Hayward, John. (1862). A Paper on Bradfield House. Exeter Diocesan Architectural and Archaeological Society Trans. 2nd series, vol. 1 (1867) pp 79-84. [Index]

Hoskins, W.G. and H.P.R. Finberg. Devonshire Studies, London, Jonathan Cape, 1952, 470 pp.(See pp. 59-77.)

Payne, Gordon A. (ed.) Uffculme: a Culm valley parish. Uffculme Local History Group (1988) 116p: ill, maps. [ISBN 0951311007]

Thorne, Robert Linham. The history of the Culme valley and its villages: Hemyock, Culmstock, Clayhidon, Dunkeswell, Churchstanton, Uffculme, Wellington, R.L. Thorne (1951) 26 pp. [Westcountry Studies Library DEV/0001/THO]

Reichel, Oswald J. The "Domesday" hundreds of Devon: VII. and VIII. The Hundreds of Bampton and Ufculm, Trans. Devon. Assoc., vol. 30, (1898) pp.434-457. [Index]

Wyatt, Peter (ed.). Uffculme: A Peculiar Parish: A Devon Town from Tudor Times". Uffculme Archive Group. Uffculme Devon EX15 3EP. (1997) 250p: ill [ISBN 0 952 9850 0 4] [Lookups-1] [Lookups-2]

Devon/Uffculme Parish History. Devon Family Historian, 40 (October 1986).

Parish of Uffculme. Devon Family Historian 54 (May 1990) pp. 10-16. (Transcripts of accounts of storms, etc., written during 1796-1817 by Jas Windsor, vicar.)

Adams, Maxwell (Ed.). Extracts from the Walrond Papers. Proceedings at the Forty-Ninth Annual Meeting of the Devonshire Association. Trans. Devon. Assoc., vol.  XLII, (1910), pp. 27-29. [Transcript]

View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference ST069127 (Lat/Lon: 50.906238, -3.325475), Uffculme which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

Roach, Barbara. The Uffculme Fallen. MP3, Devon Family History Society.

M., R.B. Protestation Oath Rolls, 1641. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries, vol. 10 (1918- 1919) pp. 253-265.

Cullompton Register of Bastardy Applications 1850-1859, Exeter, Devon FHS (2004). [Includes parishes of Burlescombe, Churchstanton, Cullompton, Halberton, Kentisbeare, Silverton, Thorverton and Uffculme.] [Foreword] [Names included in the overall index published as "Rich man, poor man, beggar man, thief" (CD 023).

The Wills & Inventories for Uffculme have survived because the parish was a peculiar of the Bishop of Salisbury, and hence they were not held among the Devon probate records that were destroyed by fire in Exeter during World War II. They are in the Wiltshire Record Office, and all have been transcribed by the Uffculme Archive Group and published by the Devon & Cornwall Record Society - see below, and the accompanying book "Uffculme: A Peculiar Parish", listed above under "History".

An analysis of the Uffculme probate records, concentrating on the evidence they provide of early book ownership, is to be found in Exeter Working Papers in British Book Trade History 12.

A Study by Alison Lee:  Furniture in Uffculme Inventories, 1756-1762, is available on the Regional Furniture Society's website.

PCC wills of John Hewett (1851) and William Hewett (1853), transcribed by Diane Harris.

Wills of Henry Osmonde (1591), Andrew Apelin or Aplin (1706) and John Bampfield (1799)  transcribed by Ros Dunning.

Wills of John Norman (1782) and Charles Brice (1845), transcribed by Art Ames.

Will of John Godfrey (1846) transcribed by Cathie Gilbert.

Will of Humfrey Walrond (1586) transcribed by John Moore.

Finch, G. Uffculme Records in the Wiltshire Record Office. Devon & Cornwall Notes and Queries, vol. 35, no. 2 (1982) p.84,

Wyatt, Peter (ed.) The Uffculme Wills & Inventories 16th-18th cent. Devon & Cornwall Record Society (1997). [DFHS Library 942.35/UFF][ISBN 0901853402] [Lookups]

Uffculme School web-site.